Defensive Game

Tips, Tricks and Pearls of Wisdom

Defensive Game

Postby Hankston » Fri May 16, 2008 3:43 pm

Hello, I am new to the game and so pleased with all it has to offer.I would like to play a really defensive game to learn more and explore.I do admit that all my 4x games I treat in this manner and enjoy.Would like a few suggestions on set up and tactics if some could suggest a way for a longer game.I just start to get comfortable with my playstyle and here comes a killer stack,"ouch"
I know it's not suppose to play out long like Civ or Gal civ,but would like to explore and pick up goodies like the old turnbase game that used stacks called Warlords by SSG.Can you imagine this game being backed up by one of the big companies out there.I hope one of them grab hold of Vic Davis and ask him to do what he needs as this is a game of many enjoyable hours
Hankston

Re: Defensive Game

Postby Vide » Fri May 16, 2008 7:07 pm

If you want to play defensive, recon is critical. Well, no, that's always the case. But moreso if you're turtling. Play huge maps, and try to make sure the enemy doesn't get bases anywhere near your HQ. If they do, capture them ASAP to cut off supplies. In this regard, the value of minefields cannot be underestimated. It's cheap, but when learning, you might want to build your base against the map edge and entirely surround it with minefields. It makes it very daunting to approach, as minefields cut supply lines. Also, choosing a defensive-oriented base and home tile will help, as will getting a mobile HQ-type unit out so that your HQ can never go out of supply.
Vide

Postby Indricotherium » Fri May 16, 2008 8:32 pm

In addition, invest in AA units. If you are extremely defensive the AI can, and will, go for the nuclear option. Especially the Mutants. And I agree about the value of minefields as an early warning line of defense.
Indricotherium

Postby Keypunch » Fri May 16, 2008 8:56 pm

The best defense is a good offense.