The basics for MP ?

Post your Tips, Tricks and Hints on how to advance your House's claim on the Infernal Throne

The basics for MP ?

Postby Chaosguy » Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:18 pm

I've been reading the endgame reports in the MP forum, and am surprised/impressed with the level of play there. Admittedly I've been fruitlessly trying to get into a MP match for a while now so I have no experience with how that goes, though a few things seem to stick out.

In my SP games, and even the few hotseat games I've had agaisnt myself, PoPs are key-- at least 50% of the win if not 75% comes from which fiend capitalizes on his position relative to valuable PoP's the best. That seems to not be the case in MP. I'd be curious what % of adding to victory the experienced MP players would give to PoPs.

Secondly, and I'd like to be wrong about this, but it seems in any MP game charisma is the absolute key. Forget cool & fancy builds, you have to bring max charisma to the game or expect to go home early. I'm reading about people putting planar locks on each other & buffing legions with the max wrath power, etc. and I'm thinking I generally start with charisma 2, sometimes 3, in the standard length game, and I've never raised an ability beyond level 5-- and even that was rare (usually only if I was trying to complete "envy"). A) the cost was always extravagant, B) even after upping myself to lvl 4 in an attribute, I found myself dirt poor afterward and needing 3-4 turns of peace to scrap up enough tribute to make use of it. As most of my games last on average about 50 turns-- losing 5 turns to up an ability is a big deal. I'm guessing in MP, people are starting in the 3-4 charisma range. I guess this makes sense, since with the income from high charisma you can always buff your other stats as needed.